Climbing Mt Ngungun At The Glass House Mountains

Taking Two Woody Boys Up To Mt Ngungun…

After walking around and seeing all there is to see at Eumundi Markets, for quite some time this morning with a great friend, I decided to be very crazy and head up to Mt Ngungun at the glass house Mountains.

Seen as how we live right in front of the mountain, and I mean that – we are with walking distance from the base of the Mountain –  I decided to brave the weather conditions, the mosquitoes (they are so very bad at the moment) and take two of our woody boys with me.

As soon as they unpacked their bags, got changed out of there uniforms we headed off on foot. Within minutes of getting down the road it looked like it was going to bucket down, it even started to sprinkle. But I was determined to get my exercise today, and spend some quality time with Nicholas and Cameron.

We forgot to spray with insect repellent – oops – will remember next time, so they were having a great feast on all three of us.

Considering Cameron is only 8 years old we didn’t do to bad….He could easily keep up with me, and even at one stage I had to tell him to slow down.

Nicholas being the billy goat that he is, was way ahead of us. I think that I posted that last time we went up to Mt Ngungun how quick he was 🙂

Me being that much older took a bit more time, but I was very happy with myself. This time I could walk up without stopping, and that’s amazing because we almost made it to the top. The only reason we did not keep going was because it was getting late, and the clouds were starting to come in really dark. I was also a bit concerned – if it got dark, there was no street lights and all three of us did not think about a torch.

All in All it was a fantastic way to spend our afternoon, taking up a fair bit of time. I think the boys are keen to go back again which is good because I forgot to take our camera and I really want to take a photo of their smiling faces as they climb. They both were very proud of themselves and so they should be – its not a very hard climb but its also no picnic. It uses muscles that they have not used before, so tomorrow will be interesting!

Wonder how many I times I will hear in the morning –  “I am too sore to walk to school, I am too sore to get out of bed, I am too sore to get my bag packed – so can I stay home?” 🙂

What A Climb Mt Ngungun Is

A great way to end a Great day.

Looking forward to making it all the way to the top once again, and kick my butt if I forget the camera again 🙂

How did you spend your day?

Cheers

Lisa Wood.

Leave a Reply

